Unboxed Logo

Home / Consumer Tech

Google Maps aerial view to location sharing notifications: check out 3 interesting updates

From aerial view to location sharing notifications: 3 interesting updates on Google Maps
One of the most highlighted updates is the Google Maps’ location sharing notification feature wherein users can see when a loved one has arrived or left a place.

 

Google Maps, on Wednesday, rolled out three new interesting features including aerial views of popular landmarks, detailed cycling routes and location-sharing notifications.

 

The mapping platform, which is available on desktop and mobile application, has added photorealistic aerial views of nearly 100 of the most popular landmarks in the cities like Barcelona, London, New York, San Francisco and Tokyo.

 

“This is the first step toward launching immersive view — an experience that pairs AI with billions of high definition Street View, satellite and aerial imagery,” the company detailed in a blog. Users need to search for a landmark in Google Maps and head to the Photos section in order to see the aerial view.

 

Further, the company is also upgrading its cycling navigation features and users will soon be able to easily compare bike routes and see even more granular details like routes with heavy car traffic, stairs or steep hills.

 

“You’ll also be able to get a highly detailed breakdown of the route itself so you can know at a glance what type of road you’ll be biking on – like a major road vs. a local street. Gone are the days of unknowingly pedaling up a strenuous hill or on a route with more car traffic than you’re comfortable with,” the company said.

 

While the aerial view feature will be rolled out globally on Google Maps on Android, iOS and desktop, the upgraded cycling navigation feature is expected to roll out in the coming weeks in just the cities where Google Map’s cycling directions are available.

 

Last but not least, the most highlighted update is the Google Maps’ location sharing notification feature! Users can see when a loved one has arrived or left a place.

 

“We’ve built this feature with privacy at the forefront. Notifications can only be set for someone who has already chosen to share their location with you. The person who’s shared their location with you will receive multiple reminders to let them know — including both a push notification in the Maps app and an email, along with recurring monthly emails,” the blog post added. Users, however, have the option to either stop sharing their location or altogether block someone.

Ad 2 - 860X340
Advertisement
Unboxed Magazine - tech, phones, robotics, startups, mobility, & space news

Psst, You!

(Yes, You!)

Want access to exclusive insider tech stories ?

All you need to do is enter your email ID below.

By submitting your email, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Notice. You can opt out at any time.