Everything that you need to know about the Golden Globe Awards 2024

    The 81st Golden Globe Awards 2024 held at Beverly Hilton Hotel started the award season for the year. Hosted in Los Angeles, California, the glamorous evening witnessed the presence of celebrities like Meryl Streep, Margot Robbie, Leonardo DiCaprio, Florence Pugh, Taylor Swift, Angela Bassett and Dua Lipa.

    The Barbeinheimer fever dominated the entirety of the previous year and inevitably Greta Gerwig’s “Barbie,” and Christopher Nolan’s “Oppenheimer,” have been under the spotlight concerning the nominations. 

    “Oppenheimer,” which was the film about J.Robert Oppenheimer and his Manhattan Project, won the Best Motion Picture (Drama) honour, the biggest award of the night. Robert Downey Jr. won the Male Supporting Actor and Ludwig Goransson bagged the Original Score. Cillian Murphy, predictably won the Best Male Actor Award and the Best Director trophy was granted to Christopher Nolan.  

    ‘Poor Things,’ secured the honorable Best Movie Comedy or Musical. Emma Stone, claimed the Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy for playing Bella Baxter in ‘Poor Things.’ 

    “Barbie,” on the other hand, only won two awards, despite topping the list of nominees of the year. It broke the records for becoming the most successful movie made by a female filmmaker at the domestic box office and for also becoming a massive release, globally. Deservingly, “What Was I Made For?” composed by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell won from the movie soundtrack, won the Best Original Song Award, marking a significant victory. 

    Additionally, Lily Gladstone earned the Best Actress award in Drama that secured the “Killers of the Flower Moon,” its only award for the night. 

    While ‘Succession,’ the highly-nominated TV show, was expected to win the Best Television Drama Series, and lead actors Sarah Snook and Kieran Culkin were badged with double wins, ‘Beef’ made history as the first show to be created by and starring Asian Americans to win in its category of Golden Globe for Best Television Limited Series.  

    ‘The Bear,’ was honoured with the Best Television Comedy award and Ayo Edebiri and Jeremy Allen White won their titles in the acting category as lead actors. 

    Check out the complete list of winners, here


    author avatar
    Olivia Roy




    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here