Logged-out Icon

Get verified for $8, says Twitter’s new boss Elon Musk

Along with the verification badge, Twitter users will get features like a priority in replies, mentions, and searches, fewer ads, and the ability to post longer videos.


In a series of new updates regarding Twitter’s verification revamp, Elon Musk said the new paid plan will cost $8 per month adding that the price will be adjusted according to purchasing power parity of the country. Twitter Blue is a micro-blogging website’s subscription tier that gives access to premium features. As of now, Twitter Blue is only available in selected countries, however, Musk’s announcement hints toward a global launch of paid subscription plan.

Musk tweeted “Twitter’s current lords & peasants system for who has or doesn’t have a blue checkmark is bullshit. Power to the people! Blue for $8/month.” He further said that along with the verification badge, users will get features like a priority in replies, mentions, and searches, fewer ads, and the ability to post longer videos than the current limit of 2 minutes 20 seconds. The subscription plan will also give the company a revenue stream for rewarding content creators, Musk added.

Earlier this week, there were reports of Twitter’s verification process getting revamped and that the fee will be around $20 per month. It lead to chaotic discussions on the platform as to what was the original purpose of verifying accounts and why to charge for something that’s always has been free. American author Stephan King shared his dismay about the high fee on Twitter to which Musk replied, “We need to pay the bills somehow! Twitter cannot rely entirely on advertisers. How about $8?” However, as of now, there is no timeline for the rollout of this new paid plan.



Among other major updates regarding what’s been happening at Twitter since the takeover, one is that Musk has fired Twitter’s board of directors and made himself the sole director of the company. A Reuters report says that Musk has also mentioned in a filing that reads, “The following persons, who were directors of Twitter prior to the effective time of the merger, are no longer directors of Twitter: Bret Taylor, Parag Agrawal, Omid Kordestani, David Rosenblatt, Martha Lane Fox, Patrick Pichette, Egon Durban, Fei-Fei Li, and Mimi Alemayehou.”




This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website