TikTok is testing a new feature that will save users the trouble of having to DM clips from the “For You” page with their friends. The video-based social networking service has introduced a “Repost” button, which is similar to Twitter’s retweet feature.The feature, however, is not available to everyone yet as the feature is reportedly being tested out on a limited number of users.
Earlier, several sites had reported on the feature, and social media consultant Matt Navarra tweeted an image of the button on December 19th. On January 5, TechCrunch reported more details on how the tool works in practice, including that it seems to be limited to the For You feed from the share menu rather than across the entire TikTok app. Further, the videos that are shared can also be un-shared from the same menu.
Moreover, the videos that are shared with the Repost button won’t appear in the sharer’s profile; it’ll show up only on their friends’ For You feeds. The Repost button, according to TechCrunch, will only push the video to those users’ feeds who follow each other.
TechCrunch also reported that some users are seeing a “Recommend” button in place of the Repost tool. Both features prompt users to share why they’re reposting the video—a step that can be skipped if users simply DM the clip. TikTok told TechCrunch in a statement that it’s “always thinking about new ways to bring value to our community and enrich the TikTok experience.”